Food Safety Innovation Award

Plaque and $2,500 Honorarium. Presented to an individual or organization for creating a new idea, practice, or product that has had a positive impact on food safety, thus, improving public health, and the quality of life.

  • Sponsored by: Walmart
  • 2022 Recipient(s): bioMérieux

Submit a Nomination

Nominate a worthy colleague for one of our 2023 awards. Award nominations (other than the Black Pearl Award) must be submitted by email as one PDF to Mailed copies sent to the IAFP office or to any other email address will not be accepted. For information on Student Travel Awards, visit the Student page. The deadline for all 2023 award nominations is Tuesday, February 14, 2023.

Past Awardees

  • 2021 Hygiena
  • 2020 Clear Labs
  • 2019 Clean Works
  • 2018 QualMap
  • 2017 Novolyze
  • 2016 Sterilex Corporation
  • 2015 Alchemy Systems LP
  • 2014 David Kingsley
  • 2013 Ceeram
  • 2012 None given
  • 2011 Food Marketing Institute and GS1 US
  • 2010 Hyglos GmbH
  • 2009 Paula Fedorka-Cray
  • 2008 Bruce J. Bradley
  • 2007 Microbiology Laboratory Staff of the California Dept. of Health Services Food and Drug Laboratory Branch (FDLB)
  • 2006 Edward C. Mather
  • 2005 Maricopa County Environmental Services Deapartment, Environmental Health Division, Phoenix, Arizona