## Fruit & Vegetable Safety & Quality PDG

Attendees: Kristin Esch (Chair), Enrique Garcia (Vice-Chair), Laura Ajata, Grace Akumu, Adriana Alfaro, Basim Alohali, Samir Assar, Adam Baker, Akshaya Balaji, Clifton Baldwin, Ronny Barrera, Rebecca Bell, Laura Pineda-Bermudez, Betsy Bihn, Samantha Bolten, Maria Brandl, Alex Brandt, Robert Buchanan, Collins Bugingo, Laurel Burall, Kellie Burris, Isabella Casas, Diego Casas, Catalina Cespedes, Sergio Nieto-Chavez, Neil Checketts, Pavana Harathy Chennupati, Kinsey Clishe, Margaret (Peg) Coleman, Kim Cook, Faith Critzer, Sitara Cullinan, Carl Custer, Atin Datta, Megan Dixon, Cyril Nsom Ayuk Etaka, Jorge Pinto Ferreira, Connie Fisk, T.J. Fu, Zhujun (Abby) Gao, Alberto Garre, Andree George, Violeta Mendoza Gomez, Sanjay Gummalla, Joshua Gurtler, Alan Gutierrez, Wannes Hugo R. Van Hassel, Evan Henke, Shauna Henley, Haknyeong Hong, Melanie Ivey, Valerie Jackson, Tony Jin, Harsimran Kaur Kapoor, Ryan Karns, Pete Kennedy, Margaret Kirchner, Kathy Knutson, Greg Komar, Kavitha Koti, Kento Koyama, Dave Largey, Juan Ponce De Leon, Susan Leonard, Dan Li, Girvin Liggans, Susan Linn, Blanca Ruiz Llacsahuanga, Teressa Lopez, Mallika Mahida, Deon Mahoney, Eric Martin, Martin Martinez, Rafael Martinez, Ann Marie McNamara, Vyom Mehta, Yulie Meneses, Abigail Aba Mensah, Michael Michel, Amie Minor, Ahmed El-Moghazy, Sergio Nieto Montenegro, Scott Moosekian, Caroline Motzer, Sudarsan Mukhopadhyay, Pham Hong Hanh Nguyen, Xiangwu Nou, Kathleen O'Donnell, Rebecca Olsen, Cory Ortego, Jitu Patel, William Patrum, Amanda Philyaw Perez, Gabriella Pinto, Alda Pires, Ana Allende Prieto, Rawane Raad, Gustavo Reyes, Nadira Espinoza Rock, Robert Roe, Robert Salter, Deepti Salvi, Brooke Schwartz, Nikki Shariat, Manan Sharma, Cangliang Shen, Alexandre da Silva, Mariana VillarrealSilva, Jared Smith, Rigo Soler, Matthew Stasiewicz, Andrew Stephens, Don Stoeckel, Laura Strawn, Sriya Sunil, Iryna Syb, Martha Sanchez-Tamayo, Phillip Tocco, Zeynal Topalcengiz, Grace Tung, Mark Turner, Tamara Walsky, Terri Wasmoen, Xiaohong Wei, Eric Wilhelmsen, Jacqueline Wilhelmsen, Michael Wood, Kristin Woods, Zhenlei Xiao, Kang Zhou.

**Total Number of Attendees: 127.** 

Meeting Called to Order: Sunday, 1:03 p.m. Eastern Time, July 16, 2023.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Markanna Moore.

**Old Business:** Meeting minutes from the virtual 2022 meeting were adopted. PDG members were reminded to utilize *IAFP Connect* to communicate with the PDG, exchange ideas, and sign up for other PDG participation. Welcomed new members and those that had not yet participated in a PDG meeting. Reviewed past committee meeting on September 21, 2022 and April 21, 2023 as well as the March 21, 2023 webinar featuring Daniel Karp and Teresa Bergholz.

**New Business:** Executive Board updates were delivered by Manan Sharman and included reminders to download meeting app and to get involved with the DEI council. In addition, he mentioned that in support of world food safety day all the IAFP webinars were open for the month of June and received around 9,000 views.

Manan also reviewed the mentor/mentee program and encouraged PDG members to submit topics for

webinars in lieu of symposia or roundtables.

Reminders were provided about the use of IAFP Connect for PDG communications and sharing of

professional opportunities. Symposia/workshop/roundtable proposals are due to IAFP by Oct. 3, 2023. A review of the 10 FVSQ-sponsored sessions for the 2023 meeting were shared. PDG members are advised to send

any suggestions for webinars for 2023/2024 to Enrique or Kristin.

A facilitated break-out session was conducted during the PDG meeting. The topics were based on a poll that

was sent out to members prior to the PDG meeting. The goal was to facilitate discussion between those with

like minded ideas for purposes of identifying similar and trending areas of interest for symposia, roundtable and

webinar submissions.

A reminder that Vice-Chair elections will be coming next year and that an email will be sent to solicit

nominations.

Presentations were provided by several colleagues to cover updates on behalf of the following organizations.

The presentation slides will be shared via IAFP Connect.

Markanna Moore - Student PDG.

Margaret Kirchner - FDA CORE - Produce-related outbreaks. Samir Assar - FDA Division of Produce

Safety.

Trevor Suslow - UC Davis/CPS.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. PDG Members support the continued implementation of the breakout portion of the meeting and therefore

would like the Board to consider the room configuration for the PDG. Roundtables with areas to move

around would be beneficial.

2. Consider organizing a local tour (with registration cap) to showcase a food facility, farm, or business that

provides food safety services in each host city during the Annual Meeting.

Next Meeting Date: July 14, 2024, Long Beach, California.

Meeting Adjourned: 2:54 p.m. Eastern Time.

Chairperson: Kristin Esch.